31 Days of Fall Fun: Apple Crisp

31daysApple Crisp

Did I mention that fall is my favorite season? Well it is. So to kick off my favorite season of the year I’m going to be doing a 31 Days of Fall Fun Blogging Challenge. That’s right from now until October 31st I will be giving you a new fun fall activity EVERY SINGLE DAY. There will be some of the normal blogging stuff on here, especially the posts I promised about the pilgrimage and one other time sensitive one about Catholic Betrothal, but all of the 31 Days Challenge posts will be marked the same as this one. Some will be more complicated and involved others will be simple and budget friendly. I’ll cover some DIY, some baking, some nice couple dates, a few day trips, basically fall activities you can easily do this month to make the most of Autumn.

So let’s get started!

Fall just isn’t Fall without apples. They’re everywhere, and if you’re like me you can’t pass up fall without apple-picking…which I have already done…I am slightly obsessed with checking off my fall checklist every year…and I will probably go again haha.

But together my fiance and I picked a 1/4 bushel of apples which might not seem like a lot…but it’s a lot for two people to eat. So We had to start getting creative with cooking and eating them because I can only eat so many raw apples before I start to go a little bit nuts.

One of the staples of fall desserts is Apple Crisp but as both of us are watching our waistline for the wedding and some other health reasons I decided to find a quick and healthy recipe. So that’s what I’ll be giving you today!

Here’s what you’ll need:

  • 3 medium baking apples, cored, sliced thin (I used Jonamacs they’re a nice balance between sweet and tart)
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 2 tbsp of sugar
  • 2 tbsp of flour

Then for the Crisp Topping You’ll need:

  • 1 cup of quick oats
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 2 tbsp butter (I use grass-fed Kerrygold)
Apple chop
Sorry the pic is sideways for some reason no matter how much i fussed it wouldn’t rotate for me. All of em did except this one, but you get the idea…it’s a bunch of chopped up apples! haha

1.) Preheat oven to 325 degrees and get your apples ready! I cut mine up in to chunks to cut the cores out and then sliced them thin to line my ceramic bakeware. The original recipe said use a 9 in baking pan. I don’t have that so I split it up into two smaller pans and it worked out just fine (just remember to split up your ingredients if you do!)

Apple Bin
There they are! All thinly sliced and ready to get sprinkled with cinnamon and all the other yummy stuff!

2.) Sprinkle Cinnamon, Sugar and Flour over all of the apples, you may need to use your hands to life the top slices up to get all of them evenly covered.

Here they are! Already to be topped with crunchy topping!
Here they are! Already to be topped with crunchy topping!

3.) In a separate bowl combine all of the ingredients for the topping. You may need to soften your butter in the microwave to get it to blend evenly. I found that 15 seconds softens it great! When you’re done  sprinkle evenly it on top of your sliced apples.

Oop! My thumb makes it's blogging debut!! I'm obviously giving this delicious recipe a THUMBS up! hehe!
Oop! My thumb makes it’s blogging debut!! I’m obviously giving this delicious recipe a THUMBS up! hehe!

4.) Bake at 325 until apples are soft and topping is Golden Brown. Serve Hot with a scoop of vanilla ice cream! Goes great with cool Fall evenings and snuggling on the couch!

apple done

Enjoy!!! As if I wasn’t doing enough with this 31 Day Challenge I also am part of TWO link ups today!

Here’s a Button for Fall Family Fun Friday Link Up:
”HappyandBlessedHome.com”

And here you can check out all the amazing links for the Get Your Shine On Link Up Party!

Have any other recipe variations?? Hit up my comment box below!

See ya tomorrow!

8 comments

  1. I literally just went apple picking and got a bushel (and then some). I made my very first apple pie AND apple cobbler, because that’s what my hips need right now. But, there’s always a sweater to cover those extra bites of pie! I can’t help it, the Fall is my favorite season!

    Like

    • My fiance was begging me to bake something “apple-y” because he wanted an excuse to eat sweets AND have his house smell like Fall! So now he has two pans of apple crisp and couldn’t be happier haha! I also made pumpkin muffins earlier in the week 12 of them and they’re already gone! But there’s nothing better that warm apple crisp with a cool glass of cider on a chilly fall night It’s the combination of cozy and crisp that really makes me love this time of year!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Fall is my favorite season too and we just moved to a new house with an apple tree!! And for the laziest of lazies who can’t pull off even this beautiful and simple apple crisp…. we just saute the apples in butter, brown sugar and cinnamon!

    Like

    • NICE! We also do an apple saute but I throw apple turkey sausage, apples and onions in the fry pan with some olive oil comes out phenomenal and super quick! Great quick autumn dinner, I also do apples with almond butter too! So many ways to enjoy them!

      Like

Leave a comment