31 Days of Fall Fun (Day 4): Make a Spooky Soundtrack

spookysoundtrack

It’s never too early to get ready for Halloween in my book. When I was little my dad would break out his favorite Halloween songs CASSETTE TAPE (yea, I know, dating myself just a tad) and we would dance around the house to some cooky, silly halloween songs for weeks before Halloween.

Now that I’m on my own I’ve noticed that the few weeks before Halloween I still get spooky music cravings and there are few classics I simply can’t pass up. So if you’re looking to get into the spirit of the fall season a great fun activity is discovering some Halloween themed music and making yourself a playlist to play throughout the month and for Trick Or Treaters on Halloween Night!

To get you started I’ve made a list of some of my favorite Halloween-y tunes for your enjoyment:

1.) Monster Mash– This 1960s Halloween classic brings back so many memories with my parents raking leaves, carving pumpkins and treat or treating. Love this humorous little tune.

2.) Ghostbuster’s Theme– Another classic more from my time (ish) haha this hit while controversial is still just a cool song and another Halloween playlist must have:

3.) Haunted House– This almost skiffle ditty by Jumpin Gene Simmons is a playful and funny Halloween tune that’s as innocent and fun as it is catchy!

4.) Thriller – OF COURSE this song has to be on the list! I may or may not have spent numerous hours learning every single step of the dance portion of this song…

5.) I Put A Spell On You– As much as I love the movie Hocus Pocus I was a fan of this version by Screamin Jay Hawkins long before Hocus Pocus was out. This guy’s delivery just cracks me up every time.

6.) Martian Hop– Another 1960s weird little song haha, for some reason once I listen to it I just start bopping around my house and of course it fits perfectly for this time of year!

7.) Little Ghost – If you’ve seen Paranorman you may have found this super catchy little folksy tune very familiar. It’s featured in the movie and  considering how the whole movie is  all about ghosts and the supernatural this song fits right in.

8.) Grim Grinning Ghosts– I couldn’t find the quicker more up tempo version of this song on youtube but it is available on itunes and I like that faster one a bit better but you can get a feel for the tune with this video:

9.)This is Halloween– This creepy little classic tune from Nightmare Before Christmas is another great must have for any spooky soundtrack!

10.) Danse Macabre Op 40- For those of you with a taste for creepy classic tunes this song will definitely be familiar to you.

There are so many more amazing Halloween Songs I may have to do a follow up to this post later on in the month once I get my hands on more Halloween music. But this is a great starter list and let me know YOUR favorite spooky  tunes in the comments below!

Have a Boo-tiful evening!

Leave a Reply

