31 Days of Fall Fun (Day 11): Learn Something New

Learn Something

I’ve made a deal with myself. I’ve told myself I will learn at least one new thing a month. Whether it’s a new recipe or a new technique for being crafty, or a new sewing or knitting stitch I am committed to learning something new. My mom is a teacher and I’ve always been taught that school is great, but the best way to maximize your potential is to keep learning even after you get out of school.

Last month, it was baking gluten free-muffins (sorry no tutorial on that yet, I’ll have to do muffins round two) This month it was my first pre-cana class with my future husband. We were just there yesterday learning how to be good husband and wife (baiscally) and I thought to myself how nice it was that we were learning together.

But learning can be expensive (I wince at the amount of money that goes out from my paycheck every month to pay for my student loans…*sigh*) so FREE learning is even better than having to pay for classes so I thought I’d make a short list of my top favorite free learning resources so that you can learn something new too!

1.) Coursera.org– If you’re looking for straight-up academic style courses Coursera is one of the best places to go for free learning. They offer super interesting classes from the top universities in the country for free. You obviously won’t get academic credits because it’s not part of an accredited collegiate program but you can learn a bunch of awesome stuff like Reasearch and Writing, and programming tips for free.

2.) edX.org– edX and Coursera are similar in that they both are on the more academically ended resources, the difference is with edX you can gain professional development certificates, and other course completion certificates that can help you if you’re looking to spruce up your skills section of your resume (or college application).

3.) OpenCulture.com -This is actually a great resource for not only free courses but also free ebooks, movies, textbooks and other academic tools.  Just a brief look at their course list and you can find all kinds of video and lecture style online courses on some really cool topics.

4.) Craftsy.com– This is for all you closet Martha Stewart wannabe’s Craftsy has a number of paid classes but they also offer a lot of free crafts, woodworking, cooking and other “life skills” type classes for those who want to pick up a new skill or learn something new. I’ve watched video courses on choosing kitchen knives (you only need three to four MAX) and refinishing wood properly. It’s been a great help to me with renovating our future home.

5.) Youtube.com – If you can make it past those cavity-inducingly cute kitten videos and a whole lot of other ridiculousness youtube has a lot of tutorials for both hair, makeup and DIY projects. For someone who tends to be a bit challenged in the “primping and putting of face together” department this has been a life saver the few times I’ve been required to show my face in public ;).

Do you have any free learning resources you’d like to share? Tell me all about them in the comments section!

2 comments

  1. Oh, wow! What a great list of resources – thank you! While I don’t have any free learning resources to share (yet), I will definitely be checking out some of those you listed. Thanks again!

    Like

    • Thanks! I’m always on the look out for free stuff, especially since I love doing crafty things or picking up a quick class on a weird topic randomly so these things let me do that and do it for free which ya can’t beat! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

